Skip to: Main Content / Navigation

• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Add This

All Forums > Employment Issues

Is it me or is it the economy?

I can't seem to be able to find a full time position supplier side. I have over 3 years of experience, fluent in Spanish. Degree in Psychology and About to complete MR certification course.

Market Research Job openings down for all of 2009

The economy has certainly taken its toll on the market research industry. The Quirks.com Web site used to have more than 700 market research job openings and now it is always around 200. Since it is free of charge to post on Quirks.com, it likely has everything to do with the state of the economy.

On the bright side...things seem to be looking up.

Will 2010 be any better?

Thanks for the info, Dan. Do you think spring 2010 might bring the jobs back to the industry? A lot of my friends in the industry lost their jobs and have been looking for months. Looking out of state doesn't seem to help much either.

2010 will be better for marketing research

From what I am hearing from research companies is that research spending does seem to be increasing. I suspect their will be a lag in hiring. I'll know more by the end of next week after I attent The Market Research Event.

If I had to make a prediction today, I would expect that by October 2010 we will see 400 to 500 job posting on our site...which is down from the 700+ we had 15 months ago but up from the 200+ we have today. I might even be on the low side. I get the impression there are a lot of people just itching to switch jobs as soon as the market improves -- so even if the job market does not improve completely, we might see a game of employment "musical chairs".

Still nothing